Zoya Summer 2016 Seashells Pixie Dusts Swatches & Review

Zoya Seashells Swatches

When I got my first peek at the Zoya summer collections, I was ecstatic to see that they were coming out with another round of Pixie Dusts! So naturally, when they had the Good Morning America deal on them a few weeks back, I had to snap them all up! I’m a huge fan of the Pixie Dust line, particularly the classic formula, and this new spin on them does not disappoint! Without further ado, I’ll get right into the swatches.

(Note: While Zoya instructs to apply the Pixie Dusts on bare, clean nails, all of my swatches were done over one coat of Pretty Serious Hex A-Peel purely because I was feeling too lazy to bother scrubbing the glitters off between swatches. Since these guys do have a heavy glitter load, I recommend using the foil method to remove or a peel off base coat. For wear time longer than what it takes to do swatches, I recommend Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter A-Peel.)

Zoya Bay Swatch

First up is Zoya Bay, a light blue with a strong gold shimmer and small medium blue hex glitters. This polish is gorgeous. It looks much lighter on the nail than it does in the bottle or the press releases which actually makes me love it all the more. The gold shimmer is very strong and apparent, but it doesn’t take away from or alter the tone of the blue at all. Colours like this make me think of Alice in Wonderland or Cinderella: pure fairy tale goodness! Shown here is two easy coats with no topcoat.

Zoya Bay Swatch Macro

Zoya Cece Swatch

Next we have Zoya Cece, a medium lime green with a strong gold shimmer and small medium green hex glitters. Cece is definitely the lime green sister of Bay, same finish and same amazing formula. Cece is a bit more yellowy and the gold shimmer is much more apparent in person; my camera just refused to pick it up properly. Shown is two easy coats and no top coat.

Zoya Cece Swatch Macro

Zoya Levi Swatch

Zoya Levi is a medium metallic soft gold with tons of gold shimmer and medium gold holographic hex glitters. I was really apprehensive when I saw that there were going to be chunkier holo glitters in some of this collection since the finish of the Magical Pixie Dusts just wasn’t really my thing. I was super relieved to see that the finish on these is much daintier than the Magical Pixies and more of a gentle bling rather than completely in your face. (And yes, the holo glitters in these polishes are actually holographic rather than iridescent glitter Zoya’s labeled as holographic before.) Shown here is two coats with no top coat.

Zoya Levi Swatch Macro

Zoya Linds Swatch

Next up is Zoya Linds, a slightly warm leaning bright red with a strong gold shimmer and smaller cool red hex glitters. Linds is such a bright red, it completely freaked my camera out and came out looking much more washed out than it is in person. Believe me, this is one saturated shade of red. The combo of the warmer base and cooler glitters makes it read fairly neutral on the nail, despite the gold shimmer. Shown here is two coats without top coat.

Zoya Linds Swatch Macro

Zoya TIlly Swatch

Zoya Tilly is a bright metallic silver with silver micro glitter and small gunmetal grey holographic hex glitter. Tilly is a total stunner, super bright and blingy especially in direct sunlight. In person, to my eye, it pulls ever so slightly lavender, but overall is a very clean, neutral silver that’ll be flattering on any skin tone. Shown is two coats with no top coat.

Zoya Tilly Swatch Macro

Zoya Zooey Swatch

And finally we have Zoya Zooey, a warm leaning medium-light pink with a strong gold shimmer and medium silver holo hex glitters. I was really excited for this one because, though it’s spelled differently, my cat’s name is Zoe, and I am such a cat lady that I find that amusing. Ahem. Zooey is a warm, happy sort of colour, perfect for the bright summer sun. Again, I was worried about the holo hexes, but they are small enough to not read too chunky on the nail. Shown is two coats without top coat.

Zoya Zooey Swatch Macro

 

The formula on these guys was the same across the board: very easy to apply despite the glitter load (I was amazed to not need to do any clean up for any of my swatches!), sheer on the first coat but building the up to opacity on the second. I can definitely see though where you might need a third coat depending on your application technique and how picky you are about coverage. For me personally, with the amount of sparkle going on, I was happy with two. The only exception to this is Levi which was nearly opaque on the first coat. The finish on them all was somewhere between the classic Pixies and the Ultra-Pixies/Magical Pixies from the Winter 2014 collection. They’re definitely textured and not totally glossy but not quite as sugar crystally matte as the classic Pixie Dusts. It’s also worth noting that the dry time on this collection is much longer than the super quick drying classic Pixies. Zoya has said that you can use their Fast Drops on Pixie Dusts to speed up dry time, but I haven’t given that a shot yet with these guys.

I am mad in love with this collection. Like I said, I was apprehensive about the multi-sized glitters and was having flashbacks to the Magical Pixies, but these guys are toned down from that and much more wearable without sacrificing the bling factor. My favourites from this collection are Bay and, surprisingly, Levi. I’m normally not a huge gold person, but Levi is so soft and metallic and sparkly that I can’t help but adore it!

How do you guys feel about these new additions to the Pixie Dust line up? Are you over textured polishes or excited to see more of them?

One thought on “Zoya Summer 2016 Seashells Pixie Dusts Swatches & Review

  1. Pingback: BLOGGER SWATCHES AND REVIEWS OF ZOYA SUNSETS & SEASHELLS - Zoya Blog

Leave a Reply

