Zoya Summer 2016 Sunsets Collection Swatches & Review

Hello lovelies! Long time no see! I’ve had the absolute worst nail luck these past two months, with lots of peeling and breaking and assorted nonsense, in addition to life taking up time, which is a combo that doesn’t really lend itself to getting much blogging done. So I hope you’ll all forgive me for showing up two months late with swatches!

Today I’ve got the second half of Zoya’s summer 2016 collection, the Sunsets creams. These guys were marketed as being one coat creams, and I know that my first question when I saw that was, “Are they really one coaters?” Well, to get that question out of the way, the answer is no, not really. I’ll cover the formulas a bit more as I go through them.

Zoya Brynn Swatch

First up is Zoya Brynn, a medium cool leaning pink. The formula on this one is not so much a one coat cream as it is a three coat crelly. It was a little difficult to work with namely because I used such heavy final coats to make sure everything was even which let to cuticle flooding both times I went to swatch it. It’s a gorgeous colour, but it’s not super unique and the formula definitely left a bit to be desired. Shown is three coats with top coat.

Zoya Cam Swatch

Next we have Zoya Cam, a brightish medium orange cream. This one also pulled more crelly-ish, though I found it a bit easier to work with than Brynn. Shown is three coats plus top coat.

Zoya Dixie Swatch

Zoya Dixie is a watermelon pink cream. This is my surprise favourite out of the collection! Watermelon is really the perfect way to describe it; it’s a gorgeous supersaturated warm pink that pull red in certain lighting. Shown here is two coats with top coat, though it’s definitely on the edge where depending on application, you might need three.

Zoya Dory Swatch

Next we have Zoya Dory, a dusty sky blue cream. I think we need to just take a moment to appreciate the name of this colour. I seriously geeked out so hard when I saw it in the press release! Finding Nemo is one of my favourite movies, so having a polish based on it is very exciting for me. Dory is creamier than the other polishes and is opaque in two coats.

Zoya Liv Swatch

Zoya Liv is a medium warm purple cream. The finish on this one is somewhere between Dory and the others, leaning a bit more cream than crelly. Shown is two coats plus top coat.

Zoya Ness Swatch

And finally, we have Zoya Ness, a slightly muted medium jade green cream. Like Dory, this one has a creamier texture to it, and it also took two coats to reach opacity.

 

Overall, I’m a bit disappointed in this collection. A lot of that has to do with the fact that I got so excited about the prospect of a whole collection of one coaters. If they hadn’t been marketed as such, I probably wouldn’t mind the formulas quite so much. Also, though, I really wish that Dory and Ness were brighter and more saturated. I feel like their muted tones are a bit out of place next to the bright warm colours, and they also make the shades far more dupable within Zoya’s line. Ness, for example, is barely distinguishable from Josie. The formulas on all of them are pretty pigmented on the first coat, just really uneven, which I think will make them nice for freehanded nail art, so that’s how I’ll probably end up using them for the most part.

How are you guys feeling about this collection? Has anyone else had better luck with the formulas?

Leave a Reply

